Whincup Wins in the Top End

Australian V8 Supercars, Fiasco Sports

Published on: http://www.fiascosports.com

Jamie Whincup running in at Darwin. Photo: Helen Orr

Jamie Whincup running in at Darwin. Photo: Helen Orr

Red Bull Racing’s Jamie Whincup has extended his championship lead by winning race 17 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Hidden Valley Raceway.

Whincup steered clear in the action-packed race early on, grabbing first position in the second stint of the 60/60-format race, leading Shane van Gisbergen and James Courtney to the finish line.

Ford Performance Racing’s David Reynolds showed his pace in the top-ten shootout and the first stint of the race, grabbing pole position. Unfortunately within the dying stages of the race, Winterbottom made contact with Reynolds going into the hairpin.

Reynolds finished in 14th, with Winterbottom awarded a drive-thru penalty causing the teammates to not finish on the podium for FPR.

Rick Kelly produced the best-ever result for the Nissan Altima, finishing in fifth position, as well as Tim Slade who brought home the Erebus Mercedes AMG in sixth.

Newcomer to the category Chaz Mostert placed his personal best, finishing in seventh place for Dick Johnson Racing.

A further two 35-lap races will be held tomorrow to complete the Skycity Triple Crown event in Darwin.

Pos No. Team Driver Car
1    1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF
2   97 TEKNO Team VIP Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF
3   22 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF
4   19 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF
5   15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima
6   47 Heavy Haulage Australia Racing Tim Slade Mercedes E63 AMG
7   12 Wilson Security Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG
8    8 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF
9    3 Team HIFLEX Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF
10   36 Norton 360 Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima
11   33 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VF
12   14 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF
13    2 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF
14   55 The Bottle-O FPR Ford David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG
15  360 Norton 360 Racing James Moffat Nissan Altima
16    9 SP Tools Racing Maro Engel Mercedes E63 AMG
17    7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima
18    4 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Mercedes E63 AMG
19   21 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VF
20   18 Jeld-wen FPR Ford Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG
21   34 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF
22    5 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG
23   66 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VF
24   88 Dodo Insurance Racing Dean Fiore Holden Commodore VF
25   80 ekol Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF
26  888 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF
DNF    6 Pepsi Max Crew FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG
DNF   17 Wilson Security Racing Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon FG

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s