Lorenzo Claims Italian MotoGP Victory

Fiasco Sports, MotoGP

Published on: http://www.fiascosports.com

Jorge Lorenzo - Photo: Dave Contini

Jorge Lorenzo – Photo: Dave Contini

Jorge Lorenzo steered clear in an eventful grand prix at the Mugello circuit, leading every lap of the Italian grand prix, coming home with the win.

Factory Yamaha rider Lorenzo although did not take an easy win, with team Repsol Honda duo Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez applying the pressure from behind throughout the race.

The Mugello crowd were left shocked in the start of the race, with their hero and multiple world champion Valentino Rossi involved in a huge crash on lap one with Rossi collected by Alvaro Bautista at turn four, forcing both riders into the barriers at high speed. Both riders walked away from the crash.

Pedrosa had the jump on the start, but it was only until turn two that Lorenzo took the lead from the Honda rider. Marc Marquez had a great jump at the start of the race from the second row to take third place, defending his position to Andrea Dovizioso.

The top three riders started to drift away from the rest of the pack, with Marquez and Pedrosa both hungry for the race lead. Crutchlow started to catch the front three after he slipped passed Douvizioso.

Jorge Lorenzo eventually gained a strong lead on the Honda duo, out in front by 5 seconds. The battle was then on for second place, with Marquez making his way to second passing Pedrosa.

Unfortunately for 20-year-old Marquez, he crashed out while in second position with three laps to go. Marquez endured his first DNF for the season and handed podium positions to Pedrosa and Cal Crutchlow, with Crutchlow amazingly still racing with a broken leg.

The last lap saw Stefan Bradl make a last-turn move on Dovizioso to take fourth place, ahead of Ducati riders Nicky Hayden and Michele Pirro.

After taking the Italian MotoGP win, Lorenzo has closed his championship gap to Dani Pedrosa to 12 points.

The next MotoGP race will be June 16 at the Circuit de Catalunya for round six of the championship.


Race Results

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing

2. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team

3. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3

4. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP

5. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team

6. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team

7. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Test Team

8. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar

9. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3

10. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens

11. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar

12. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project

13. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing

14. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing

15. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing

16. Yonny Hernandez COL Paul Bird Motorsport

17. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport

18. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini

19. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project


Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team

Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing

Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens

Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing

Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini


IndyCar: Australian Will Power takes victory at Barber Motorsports Park

Indy Car, On The Record

Published on: http://www.ontherecord-unisa.com.au/?p=2127


Australian IndyCar driver Will Power claimed his first win of the season to take the win in Sunday’s IndyCar race at Barber Motorsports Park in Alabama.

The Australian driver started from ninth on the grid, but a mixture of misfortune and forceful tactics from Scott Dixon in the final cycle of pitstops helped Power to first place.

Before the final round of stops, Dixon had the lead on Power.

After losing time behind Simona de Silvestro, Dixon suffered a slow pitstop, having to wait for EJ Viso’s car to move before he could be released back into pit lane.

The time lost was enough for Power to take the lead.

With Dixon’s tyres fading away, Power’s chances looked promising from then on.

Scott Dixon ended up finishing second, with Helio Castroneves rounding out the top three.

This race was a good demonstration of the strategic elements of IndyCar racing, with the combination of overtaking, passing and pit stops making for constant position changes throughout the 90-lap race.

The biggest mover of the race was Dario Franchitti, who managed to cross the line in tenth place after starting eighteenth.

Rubens Barrichello also took a step forward in his adaptation from Formula 1 to IndyCar by finishing in eighth position.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                           Time/Gap

1.  Will Power           Penske DW12-Chevrolet         2h01m40.1127s

2.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi DW12-Honda                + 3.3709s

3.  Helio Castroneves    Penske DW12-Chevrolet            + 19.1150s

4.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi DW12-Honda               + 19.3395s

5.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt-Hamilton DW12-Honda      + 20.1050s

6.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti DW12-Chevrolet          + 23.3093s

7.  Mike Conway          Foyt DW12-Honda                  + 24.5552s

8.  Rubens Barrichello   KV DW12-Chevrolet                + 25.4023s

9.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon DW12-Lotus                + 27.1815s

10.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi DW12-Honda               + 32.7377s

11.  Marco Andretti       Andretti DW12-Chevrolet          + 33.5038s

12.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti DW12-Chevrolet          + 35.8730s

13.  Oriol Servia         Dreyer & Reinbold DW12-Lotus     + 37.8944s

14.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske DW12-Chevrolet            + 41.6742s

15.  JR Hildebrand        Panther DW12-Chevrolet           + 44.5059s

16.  James Jakes          Coyne DW12-Honda                 + 54.5343s

17.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher DW12-Honda              + 1m00.6182s

18.  EJ Viso              KV DW12-Chevrolet                   + 1 lap

19.  Justin Wilson        Coyne DW12-Honda                    + 1 lap

20.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM DW12-Lotus                      + 1 lap

21.  Tony Kanaan          KV DW12-Chevrolet                   + 1 lap

22.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter DW12-Chevrolet           + 2 laps

23.  Katherine Legge      Dragon DW12-Lotus                  + 5 laps

DNF (Did Not Finish):

Takuma Sato          Rahal DW12-Honda                    52 laps

Charlie Kimball      Ganassi DW12-Honda                45 laps

Alex Tagliani        BHA DW12-Lotus                       0 laps