Aussie Ambrose Hit with 25k Fine

Australian V8 Supercars, NASCAR, Spultured


Our Tassie Devil driver Marcos Ambrose, currently racing on circles in NASCAR, has been fined $25,000 for punching fellow driver Casey Mears after a massive stock-car style crash in Richmond, Virginia.

Not only was Mears suffering from a black eye, he was also hit with a 15k fine after pushing and riling-up the Aussie, enticing Ambrose to crack Mears in the face.

Mears said in an interview though that’s its all good with Ambrose, but that he’ll never forget being punched in the face.

Ambrose still managed to finish the race in 18th, alongside Mears in 19th place.

Both drivers have been put on probation until May 28, with neither drivers suffering suspension for the post-race incident.

Ambrose, a former V8 Supercar champion, is known for his fiery attitude at the racetrack after having a similar altercation with New Zealand driver Greg Murphy at the Bathurst 1000 in 2005.

In 2012 Ambrose was asked if he had any regrets in his career and said, “anything I regret? Yeah. There was this guy in Australia – and I regret I didn’t punch him.”

Greg Murphy was also fiery and when he saw the footage of his old rival smashing a guy in the face in America, Murphs didn’t think he had it in him.

“Maybe he saw a picture of my head on Casey Mears’ shoulders. Who knows?”

The Talladega event (Talladega nights? Yep, we all though it) is this weekend; let’s see if Ambrose and Mears can shake and bake it out.

Check out Ambrose getting a hook-in on Mears:


Third Year Unlucky at Watkins Glen for Ambrose

Fiasco Sports, NASCAR

After dominating the Watkins Glen race in NASCAR for the last two years, Marcos Ambrose was unable to finish the race this year after coming across some bad luck.

Marcos Ambrose in qualifying. Picture: Tom RyderTom Ryder/AP Photo

Tasmanian Marcos Ambrose had a tough day behind the wheel at Watkins Glen, being taken out of contention for the race with six laps to go.

The Sprint Cup regular won the race in the last two years, and was looking on the money to make it three in a row for the Richard Petty Motorsports team.

Starting from pole position, Ambrose took the lead early on and had control of the race for 51 laps, until an incident occurred on the track when Ambrose was taking his pit-stop.

The #9 Stanley Ford driver was then stuck in pit-lane, causing Ambrose to fall back through the field.

Running outside the top 10 after a race restart, a suspected mechanical fault saw the 36-year-old struggle for pace, forcing him into the wall on the run through turns 2-3-4.

Ambrose was clearly frustrated by the racing incident, chucking his steering wheel inside the cabin of the car, then throwing his helmet against his Ford.

The New York race also saw another past V8 Supercar driver make the field, with Australian Owen Kelly finishing 24th, stating he lost positions due to Ambrose’s crash.

Kelly is set to race again in the Nationwide series with Joe Gibbs Racing, running at the Mid-Ohio circuit next weekend.

After having an unfortunate end to the race last year, Kyle Busch held off Brad Keselowski to claim a thrilling win.

Pos Driver Car/Engine Laps Time/Delay
1 Kyle Busch Toyota 90 2:32:04
2 Brad Keselowski Ford 90 0.486
3 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota 90 22:27:56
4 Carl Edwards Ford 90 22:27:56
5 Juan Pablo Montoya Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
6 Clint Bowyer Toyota 90 22:27:56
7 Joey Logano Ford 90 22:27:56
8 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
9 Kurt Busch Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
10 A.J. Allmendinger Toyota 90 22:27:56
11 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
12 Casey Mears Ford 90 22:27:56
13 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
14 Ryan Newman Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
15 Massimiliano Papis Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
16 Greg Biffle Ford 90 22:27:56
17 Paul Menard Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
18 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford 90 22:27:56
19 Denny Hamlin Toyota 90 22:27:56
20 Danica Patrick Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
21 David Ragan Ford 90 22:27:56
22 Boris Said Ford 90 22:27:56
23 Matt Kenseth Toyota 90 22:27:56
24 Owen Kelly Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
25 David Gilliland Ford 90 22:27:56
26 Jeff Burton Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
27 Dave Blaney Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
28 Landon Cassill Chevrolet 90 22:27:56
29 Alex Kennedy Toyota 90 22:27:56
30 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet 85 5 Laps
31 Marcos Ambrose Ford 84 Accident
32 Brian Vickers Toyota 84 Accident
33 David Stremme Toyota 83 7 Laps
34 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 82 8 Laps
35 Ron Fellows Chevrolet 74 16 Laps
36 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet 65 25 Laps
37 Aric Almirola Ford 58 Accident
38 Michael McDowell Ford 58 Suspension
39 Brian Keselowski Toyota 47 Brakes
40 Travis Kvapil Toyota 41 Accident
41 Victor Gonzalez Chevrolet 39 Accident
42 Tomy Drissi Toyota 39 Accident
43 David Reutimann Toyota 4 Engine

– See more at: